Cringe

Standard

So, I resolved to not be such a complete slob at home, and it has now become clear that I really need to extend that to my car as well. On the homefront, things have actually been going fairly well. The countertops and kitchen table have stayed mostly clutter-free, and the laundry room and pantry have stayed organized. Sure, there is clean laundry in the living room that needs to be put away, but all the dirty clothes had been making their way to the hamper until yesterday when my children and their cousins decided to scatter the clothes all over the bathroom floor in an attempt to climb inside said hamper during a game of hide-and-seek (Note to self: set better groundrules next time the kids have a playdate).

Back to the car, though. About once a month, my office has a birthday lunch, and we all go out to eat. I usually try to catch a ride with someone else or make up some other excuse so that no one sees the inside of my car. Last Friday, though, I was caught off guard when one of my co-workers asked me for a ride. I couldn’t think of an excuse fast enough, so I agreed and instantly went into a state of panic. You see, my car is a total and complete wreck on the inside. There are always toys, jackets, empty Happy Meal boxes, juice boxes, snacks, wadded up napkins, and sometimes even a petrified chicken nugget or french fry on the floorboard. And I can’t blame it all on the kids. There are usually also receipts and junk mail and empty containers and cups from my own meals. It’s disgusting. I try to clean out the big trash every week or so, but that still leaves all the crumbs from the countless meals that get dropped on the floors.

IMAG0684

And this is after it was straightened up a bit on Saturday.

I thought about running down ahead of time to see if I could straighten it up a bit, but (maybe keeping with my resolutions to be more honest and not care as much about what others think) I didn’t. I’m a slob, and I should feel the shame that comes with that instead of trying to hide it. He, of course, was very gracious about it and assured me the car was fine (while sitting atop some junk mail I had left on the passenger seat), but I knew better.

So, I need to add another resolution:

16. Keep my car in such a state that I won’t be completely embarassed next time I have an unexpected passenger.

Leave a Reply

