Steamwhat?

Standard

So, I’ve been thinking of what costume to make for DragonCon this year since…pretty much the drive home from DragonCon last year. Costuming is something I’ve always loved. There was a quote I heard a long time ago that I’ve always wished I had written down, but the gist was that costume designers take foil and paste and turn them into jewels and crowns. I love that idea of transforming the ordinary into the extraordinary. I also find that I prefer having guidelines when I’m doing something creative. I don’t want boundaries exactly, but I like working off of a theme. I like taking a character that might exist in a comic book or cartoon and reinterpret and translate it into something that might exist in real life.

I had been toying with the idea of making a costume for the Baroness from GI Joe mainly because I wanted a character with long black hair so I didn’t have to wear a wig (late August in Atlanta is hot enough. I don’t need a mass of synthetic hair on my head trapping in heat). After looking at some pictures from last year’s DragonCon, though, I remembered that every third girl at DragonCon dresses up as the Baroness (with Catwoman and Wonderwoman being the other two–OK, I’m exaggerating a bit, but it’s overdone). Also, I don’t know if I can bring myself to prance around in a skin-tight catsuit. 

Image Detail
Umm…yeah, sure. I can pull off that look…

So, I’ve decided to do a steampunk Baroness instead. I’m no expert in steampunk, but it’s basically a sub-genre of sci-fi/fantasy in which history is reimagined so that technology is achieved through the use of mechanical devices (like the steam engine) instead of electricity. From a design standpoint, it involves Victorian aesthetics and whimsical clockwork weaponry and machines. Think bustles, gears, brass, goggles, and corsets.

I tried to imagine what the Baroness would be like in a steampunk world. She’s a military commander, but she’s also feminine. I researched Victorian military uniforms and found this gorgeous Napoleonic Prussian uniform (eh, so it’s a few decades off) that I took my inspiration from for the jacket:

Image Detail
 
 

Of course, every good steampunk outfit includes a corset, and I wanted to have the COBRA symbol on the front of it, so I decided to crop the jacket. As for the bottom of the outfit, I figured the Baroness would still wear a bustled skirt because she is still a lady, but it’d be open in front because she has to kick ass. So, this is what I came up with:

 
 I’ll post updates on my progress in my next post.
Leave a Reply

